Why do schools have governors?

The law requires each school to have a governing body made up of people who represent many interested parties (including parents, teachers, the local authority and the community) and its task is to oversee the running of the school at a strategic level.

Characteristics of Governing Bodies

Governors are people who have an interest in the role of schools in society and wish to make a positive contribution to their communities. One key task for governing bodies is to promote high standards of educational achievement.

Who are our Governors?

Caton Primary School Governing Body Membership 2021 – 22

Local Authority (1) : Mr J Gordon

Co-opted (5) : Mr J Hewitt (Chair of Governors); Mr S Clarkson (Vice Chair of Governors); Mr M Wright; Mrs L Sargent-Small; one vacancy

Parents (4) : Mr M Dobras; Mrs L Taylor; Mrs S Pennington; one vacancy

Staff (1) : Mrs E Cain

Headteacher : Mrs G Bowskill

Further information about committees, responsibilities and attendance of governors can be found below:

Meeting attendance 2021_22

Governor information

Gail Bowskill
Gail BowskillHead Teacher
Jonathan Hewitt
Jonathan HewittChair of Governors
Steve Clarkson
Steve ClarksonVice-Chair of Governors, Chair of Resources Committee
John Gordon
John GordonVice-Chair of Resources Committee
Ellie Cain
Ellie CainStaff Governor
Laura Taylor
Laura TaylorParent Governor
Lisa Sargent-Small
Lisa Sargent-SmallCo-opted Governor
Maciek Dobras
Maciek DobrasParent Governor
Mike Wright
Mike WrightCo-opted Governor
Sarah Pennington
Sarah PenningtonParent Governor

Anyone wishing to contact a school governor can do so by emailing them at the address below.

Jonathan Hewitt – jhewitt@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Steve Clarkson – sclarkson@caton.lancs.sch.uk

John Gordon – jgordon@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Mike Wright – mwright@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Lisa Sargent-Small – lsargentsmall@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Sarah Pennington – spennington@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Maciek Dobras – mdobras@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Laura Taylor – ltaylor@caton.lancs.sch.uk

Elouise Cain – ecain@caton.lancs.sch.uk